

APPOINTMENT OF CABINET AND DEPUTY LEADER

Sheena Ramsey, Chief Executive Mike Barker, Strategic Director, Corporate Services and Governance

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1. This report asks the Council to note the appointment of the Cabinet and Deputy Leader.
- 2. The Council has previously approved the adoption of executive arrangements as required by the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (minute CL/81 2009/10). Under these arrangements the Leader is elected by full Council and the Leader is responsible for appointing the remaining Cabinet members, including the Deputy Leader.
- 3. The Council on 18 May 2018 appointed Councillor Martin Gannon as Leader of the Council for a four year period until the date of the annual meeting after the municipal elections in 2022 (minute CL/4).
- 4. The Leader has appointed Councillor Catherine Donovan as Deputy Leader and the following councillors to the Cabinet for 2019/20:
 - Councillor John Adams Councillor Malcolm Brain Councillor Angela Douglas Councillor Mary Foy Councillor Linda Green Councillor Gary Haley Councillor John McElroy Councillor Michael McNestry
- 5. The portfolios allocated to Cabinet members remain unchanged.

RECOMMENDATIONS

6. The Council is asked to note this information.